

Minutes – WKTTA AGM

Wednesday 28th June 2023 @ 19.30

Attendees:

- Mark Brown
- Andy Townson
- Tony York
- Ming Majoe
- Nick Smith
- Dan Powley
- Paul Snaith
- Malcolm Cole
- Tyron Stalberg

1.1 Chairman's welcome

Thanks to all those who attended.

1.2 Apologies for absence

- Heidi Smith
- Geoff Curtis
- Lyndon Griffiths
- Roger Harris

1.3 Minutes of last AGM

- Agreed
- 1.4 Matters arising
- None

1.5 Reports

1.5.1 Chairman

- Tyron Stalberg thanked all those that had participated in the league, organised clubs, and social sessions.
- Remembrance on the loss of David Cowlen (WKTTA General Secretary, Leigh Secretary, league player and founder of the Sunday Morning Sessions) and of Mike Sefton (league player and supporter of VETTS)

1.5.2 General Secretary

- Tyron Stalberg presented a report that had been part of the AGM pack (reference C on page 13 and 14).
- Notification of Division 1 (Otford A, Leigh D) and Division 2 (Otford D, Otford E) winners and runners
 up.
- General recognition of a positive season and increased participation.
- A need for better organisation in some teams with too many cancellations.



• Recognition of the importance of club nights, social play, and Sunday Morning sessions etc.

1.5.3 Treasurer:

- Dan Powley presented the accounts at Reference D of the AGM pack.
- A small surplus was made during 2022/2023.
- No questions raised.

1.6 Election of Officers:

All officers agreed to retain their roles (bar General Secretary):

- 1.6.1 Chairman Tyron Stalberg.
- 1.6.2 President Ming Majoe.
- 1.6.3 General Secretary Tyron Stalberg agreed to fill this vacancy.
- 1.6.4 Registration Secretary Nick Smith.
- 1.6.5 Treasurer Daniel Powley.
- 1.6.6 Vice Chairman Vacant
- 1.6.7 Development Officer Paul Snaith.
- 1.6.8 GeneralCommittee

General committee members - Sarah Maris.

- Malcolm Cole resigned from the committee.
- Tyron Stalberg thanked Malcolm for years of service to the WKTTA committee.
- Action To write to all members via e-mail requesting volunteers (Tyron Stalberg to agree wording with Nick Smith)

1.6.9 Vice Presidents:

Vice Presidents for 2022/23 were:

J. Batchelor, J. Bateup, A.R. Blundell, Mrs. M. Carden, M. Cole, J. Davison, S. Day, B.S. Hodder, E.G.B. Houghton, R. Jeffery, C. Kelly, B. Lees, D. Lowrie, H.M. Macdonald, B. Milstead, J. Neal, D. Pilcher, J. Reeves, M. Sefton, R. Smewing, R. Taylor and D. Wootten.

The Vice Presidents for 2023/2024 will be:

J. Batchelor, J. Bateup, A.R. Blundell, Mrs. M. Carden, M. Cole, J. Davison, S. Day, B.S. Hodder, E.G.B. Houghton, C. Kelly, B. Lees, D. Lowrie, B. Milstead, J. Neal, D. Pilcher, J. Reeves, R. Smewing, R. Taylor and D. Wootten.

1.7 Proposals:

Proposition 1.1. To maintain the 2022/23 structure of the league for 2023/24. Each team in each
division to play every other team in the same division twice with matches taking place roughly once
a fortnight – Agreed subject to applications from clubs.



Action - Nick Smith to write to club secretaries asap requesting proposed teams for 2023/2024 before end of July 2023

Proposition 1.2. To maintain the team registration fees at £12 per team for the forth coming season –
 Agreed due to the strong financial position of WKTTA

1.8 Any other business:

- Outstanding debt of £32 to be chased for Kent League fees from 2019/2020 season
- Thank you to Fred Morris in recognition of trophies, medals, and engraving services for many years. Fred is in poor health and the committee wished him well.
- A question was raised as to whether Byng Hall would consider re-entering?

Action – Nick Smith to contact Gary Howes to see if there was any interest in Byng Hall re-joining WKTTA

 Ming Majoe noted other thriving table tennis activity in the Tunbridge Wells area (e.g., Church League). It was agreed that this was positive, that WKTTA should make links with a view to players or clubs joining the league.

Action – All to create links with local TT clubs and sessions.

1.9 Presentation of awards and trophies:

- No formal presentation of awards and trophies
- Recognition of Mark Brown winning the award for highest % in Division 1 with an average of 96.67%.